Your neighbors, your news, your town. Get informed, get involved.

Congregation Or Shalom for May 2023

May 4, 2023
Time to read:
#
minutes
Congregation Or Shalom for May 2023

Join Us For Weekly Services 

Morning Minyan

  • Sunday 9:00 AM – In person and Zoom’d
  • Monday 8:30 AM – Zoom’d
  • Thursday 8:30 AM – Zoom’d

Shabbat Services

  • Friday 7:30 PM – In person and Zoom’d
  • Saturday 9:30 AM – In person and Zoom’d

Please call the synagogue office at 203-799-2341 or email coshalom@sbcglobal.net for more information). 

"Coffee and… Learn!" with Rabbi Alvin Wainhaus

Join in for the last three sessions of this year. May 3rd, 10th & 17th, Wednesday 11-noon.  The topic is "THE PROPHETIC REVOLUTION: How a Handful of Eccentric Visionaries Revised God’s Message to the World”.  We gather to explore the ancient texts of our tradition and the light they shed on the issues of our own day.  Anyone interested is encouraged to attend, in person or via zoom.  Anyone interested is encouraged to attend, in person or via zoom - either the entire series or specific the topics.  Please call 203.799.2341 for more information.

Book Club

Thursday May 18th at 7:00 pm

“The Last Flight” by Julie Clark

Discussion led by Ileane Kaczynski

Two women.  Two flights.  One last chance to disappear.  For fans of Lisa Jewell and Liv Constantine, “The Last Flight” is the story of two women—both alone, both scared—and one agonizing decision that will change the trajectory of both of their lives.  Claire Cook has a perfect life.  Married to the scion of a political dynasty, with a Manhattan townhouse and a staff of ten, her surroundings are elegant, her days flawlessly choreographed, and her future auspicious.  But behind closed doors, nothing is quite as it seems.  But a chance meeting in the airport bar brings her together with a woman whose circumstances seem equally dire.  Together they make a last-minute decision.  The two women switch tickets, with Claire taking Eva’s flight to Oakland, and Eva traveling to Puerto Rico as Claire.  They believe the swap will give each of them the head start they need to begin again somewhere far away.  But when the flight to Puerto Rico crashes, Claire realizes it’s no longer a head start but a new life.  Cut off, out of options, with the news of her death about to explode in the media, Claire will assume Eva’s identity, and along with it, the secrets Eva fought so hard to keep hidden.  All are welcome.  Please call the office 203.799.2341 for Zoom Link.

Come back to Mah Jong......'Cause Mah Jong's back!

Thursday's 1:30-3:30pm.  All levels of players, including beginners!  Please call the office 203.799.2341 and let her know you are playing.  If you have a 2023 Mah Jong card, please bring it with you.

Expecting Expo at the Jewish Community Center, Woodbridge

Sunday, May 21st, 10-2

Come visit our Or Shalom table!!

This community-wide event is a wonderful way for families to learn about all the local support available to help them as they embark on this journey from pregnancy to pre-K.  Featuring:  expert presentations, breakout sessions, a Bump Booth (for photos), giveaways, a “Shalom Baby Café” and more!  We are excited to showcase local OBGYNs, Cord Blood Registry, childbirth educators, doulas, lactation consultants, support groups, toy companies and much more.  Bring your bump, baby and the grandparents, there will be something for everyone.  While this event is free to attend, pre-registration is encouraged and the first 100 guests to arrive will enjoy a complimentary gift bag.  Visit jccnh.org to register.

Shavuot Services and Learning

Friday evening, May 26th BRIEF SHABBAT-SHAVUOT SERVICE at 7pm ~ followed by a ~ Blintz Shavuot Dinner ~ as we engage in a discussion on: ~ “WHAT CAN WE DO TO HEAL OUR POLARIZED SOCIETY?”  Led by our Landwirth Memorial Shavuot Teacher Sarah Darer.  Author Sarah Darer is the acclaimed author of 19 middle grade and young adult novels.  Her latest book, “Some Kind of Hate,” set against the rise of white nationalism, is, in the words of a distinguished critic, an “unflinching exploration of the power of fear, and the hope of redemption.”  Sarah teaches at Western CT State University, and the Yale Writers’ Workshop.  She is also an award-winning columnist.  A member of Congregation Or Shalom, Sarah recently celebrated her “belated” Bat Mitzvah with us.  For more information about Sarah Darer’s work, please visit her website:  Sarahdarerlittman.com.  You must register to attend, 203.799.2341.

Related articles